The Monastery of the Dormition of the Most Holy Mother of God or, as it is more commonly called, the Troyan Monastery is the third largest monastery in Bulgaria. It is located in the northern part of the country in the Balkan mountains and was founded no later than the end of the 16th century.

The monastery is situated on the banks of the Cherni Osam near Oreshak, a village 10 km from Troyan in Lovech Province, and is a popular tourist destination.

The main church of the monastery was reconstructed near the end of Ottoman rule during the Bulgarian National Revival period by a master-builder called Konstantin in 1835. The ornate interior and exterior of the church were painted between 1847 and 1849 by Zahari Zograph, a popular Bulgarian painter of the time, who also painted the central church of the Rila Monastery, the largest monastery in Bulgaria. Many of the "moral and social experiments" of art at the time such as Doomsday and Wheel of Life were reproduced at Troyan. One highly controversial move by Zograph was to paint his image around one of the windows in the back of the church.

The iconostasis in the central church is a wood carving dating to 1839.

The Troyan Monastery is also, since the 17th century, the home of one of the holiest icons in Bulgarian Orthodoxy, the Three-Handed Virgin.

Many people make a pilgrimage to this monastery on St. George's Day because of an icon of St. George in the main church.

[More info]


National Exhibition of crafts and arts - Oreshak, municipality of Troyan is the only country where the exhibition halls are displayed unique items of traditional crafts made by Bulgarian artists from all ethnographic regions of the country. The exhibition organizes temporary exhibitions and demonstrations of various folk arts and crafts.

Exhibition complex was built in 1971 on an area of 50 acres and includes nine exhibition halls with total area of 4200 square meters
In each of the rooms you can enjoy unique works of art and crafts.

[More info]


The museum is located in the village Cherni Osam, located on the northern slopes of Central Stara Planina Mountain, on both banks of the Cherni Osam River. 
The village was founded 300 years ago by the liberal and rebellious Bulgarians.
Preserving their national aspiration for independence, it became a stronghold of Bulgarian spirit. Not once Apostle of freedom Vasil Levski has found refuge here.

The museum will find a wide exposure of the stuffed animal species fauna in Central Stara Planina: mammals, birds, reptiles, insects.

[More info] 

Choose language
Български (България)English (United Kingdom)
Random images
Weather in region